AVG and Malwarebytes conflict ?

schnitzer

Level 1
Thread author
Oct 14, 2017
Hi there
I have been running AVG (paid for) protection for a few years now and recently due to a suspected virus I also added Malwarebytes 3.2.2 (free trial) to give me a bit more backup but they dont seem to like each other much.

Malwarebytes keeps saying real time protection is turned off and AVG keeps telling me to uninstall Malwarebytes. I thought these 2 AV are able to work together or are there different versions of each that are compatible?
Any help appreciated.

Reactions: given

Venustus

Level 59
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Dec 30, 2012
Hi there
I have been running AVG (paid for) protection for a few years now and recently due to a suspected virus I also added Malwarebytes 3.2.2 (free trial) to give me a bit more backup but they dont seem to like each other much.

Malwarebytes keeps saying real time protection is turned off and AVG keeps telling me to uninstall Malwarebytes. I thought these 2 AV are able to work together or are there different versions of each that are compatible?
Any help appreciated.

Applications in conflict with AVG | AVG Support

Dave Russo

Level 21
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
May 26, 2014
If you really want to stay with AVG,plenty of other options besides Malwarebytes,that are just as good or better,Zemana,Emsisoft emergency scanner,Voodoshield offers nice extra protection,and a right click option shows virus total results,there are others as well,you know just google I guess gl

Reactions: Venustus

schnitzer

Level 1
Thread author
Oct 14, 2017
If you really want to stay with AVG,plenty of other options besides Malwarebytes,that are just as good or better,Zemana,Emsisoft emergency scanner,Voodoshield offers nice extra protection,and a right click option shows virus total results,there are others as well,you know just google I guess gl

Ok, thanks I will give them a try.

About us