Basic security for average users?

mal1

Level 4
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Oct 1, 2015
I'm new to the whole security world, and I barely know the difference between worms and Trojans. I saw a similar topic from September but it was more pro-oriented.
Currently I have 3 AVs on my device, I know it's wrong from both security and performance points of view. So apart from a good real-time AV, what would you install on an average user's device? Firewall, Sandbox, on-demand antimalware (MBAM or Emsisoft), MBAE, Bitdefender USB, ("HIPS" keeps coming up in conversations here, I have no idea what this means)...? And when professionals here talk about adblock, do they mean the browser extension or something else?
In a descending order, every internet user should have: (and please don't say just Microsoft security essentials and Windows firewall)
Real-time AV
On-demand antimalware
and then what?

OneDay

Level 21
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Aug 22, 2014
Well, it's a difficult topic actually. Take a look at these threads below to have a clearer image.
For an average user, sandboxes and HIPS are a no-go. They need quite some configuration and proper knowledge to respond to alerts.
Windows Firewall would me more than enough for protecting your network from inbound connections.
A simple free AV would be good for real-time protection (like Avast or Avira) or even Windows Defender that's built-in from W8 onwards. Some anti-exploit protection would be a good addtion, but chances to stumble upon something like that are almost non-existent.
Adblock refers to what you mentioned in your post. Exactly.
Now, a couple on-demand scanners (MBAM, HMP, EEK) would complete the puzzle.
But all of the above would be worthless, if not accompanied by common sense and safe browsing habits.

Reactions: mal1

SloppyMcFloppy

Level 13
Verified
Sep 12, 2015