Can malware (or other stuff like that) infect an entire network connection?

Mr.DudeManPersonGuy

Thread author
Jun 8, 2014
Hey guys!

I'm pretty new here so please forgive me if I make a problem of the obvious, as I'm not that tech savvy (and forgive me if this post is too long, for just an inquiry).

Basically I just have a question (or two!). Is it possible for a malware-infected computer/laptop to infect an entire network connection? And if so how can it be fixed (for the entire network)?

While surfing the interwebs about malware and other viruses, I came across an article that says it's possible for other computers (within the same connection/within vicinity of) to be affected by malware from a malware-infected computer. (http://www.businessinsider.com.au/what-is-air-gap-malware-2014-3)

The article says the hacker has to be very skilled and such, but also the attack has to be specifically aimed at you. While this might be true I still think it's not the only way malware can transfer/spread from one system to another within a network connection. After reading the article, and thinking about it I sort of became paranoid. I remember a friend who had a malware problem on her desktop last year. She managed to fix everything but she also claimed that her MS Surface occurred to have the same problems (ie. ads on the sides, pop-up tab ads, etc.) when browsing the web. Welp, that's another question, too. Are there other ways for malware (or other stuff like that) to infect an entire network connection, given that it is possible?

So here are the questions:

1.) Is it possible for a malware-infected computer/laptop to infect an entire network connection?...
2.) ...and if so how can it be fixed (for the entire network)?
3.) Are there other ways for malware (or other stuff like that) to infect an entire network connection, given that it is possible?