Chigwells Config

Chigwells

Level 4
Thread author
Jan 16, 2012
Hi guys,

I describe myself as a reasonably competent, self-taught, single home user. Very interested to hear your feedback to my setup.

I'm uncertain in the following areas:

1. running Emsi AM alongside a regular AV. I understand this is fine but would be happy to hear your opinions. (Updated: Now only running Emsi AM)

2. When I installed Iobit ASC Ultimate (MalwareTips giveaway) it also has an AV and AM component: "Based on #1 ranked BitDefender antivirus technology and IObit anti-malware engine, Advanced SystemCare Ultimate 6 incorporates top anti-virus capabilities, as well as the already proven comprehensive PC tune-up ability" "Advanced SystemCare Ultimate 6 is compatible with other security software" I've got it all turned off as I only installed ASC-U for it's tune-up capabilities. (Update: ASC-U uninstalled)

3. Just recently installed CIS after unsuccessfully trying out BitDefender IS2013. I was familiar with CIS2012 but of course they've changed it all around. Installed following Chiron's guide. My question is, as CIS has this Sandbox feature, do I even need Sandboxie? If I run my browsers in CIS Sandbox, doesn't this make Sandboxie kinda redundant?!? (Update: uninstalled Comodo AV. ATM I'm using Sandboxie for regular surfing and Comodo Kiosk for banking etc)

Currently playing around with Toolwiz Time Machine.

Almost forgot! Just got Zemana Antilogger (MalwareTips giveaway). Haven't installed it yet as need time to get used to CIS.

All thoughts and comments greatly appreciated :p

Chig.

Sony VAIO laptop (2012), 8GB ram, Comodo FW, Emsisoft AM paid, Open DNS, Sandboxie, Opera (also Firefox), IE disabled, MBAM on-demand, SAS on-demand, Hitman Pro on-demand, WOT, Secunia (at 100% including browser), CCleaner, limited user account, Adobe Reader uninstalled and replaced by PDF-XChange Viewer, Panda USB Vaccine. Huawei HG533 router

Reactions: DracusNarcrym

Nico@FMA

Level 27
Verified