Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Dec 30, 2012
Don’t Call Me an Expert, Call Me a Hacker

I recently sat down with Kushal Shah, a security researcher in Fortinet’s FortiGuard Labs research division. Kushal sheds light on his interest in cybersecurity and how he became a white hat hacker by trade.

Q: Hi Kushal, tell us a little about yourself and how you got into security?
When I was little, my father’s office was located just near our house, a place I was strictly not allowed to enter. But, like every kid, being told not to do something only ensured that I would try my hardest to get in. I didn’t know it was called security then, but not being allowed into that office helped me foster a fascination with it and breaking into things. Since then, I have always tried to find new ways to gain unsupervised access to things. Because of my curiosity, my father naturally assumed that I was the cause when things were broken. As a result, I had to learn to fix things too, taking responsibility even when it wasn’t me who broke things.

I certainly enjoyed the fixing part better, since I was not scolded.

In elementary school I was naturally drawn to programming from the experiences in my father’s office. I took a course on Java before most people my age. This set me ahead especially as I entered high school in Mumbai. A lot of the available study materials were reprints of old programming books, and the outdated theory didn't get me very far. I was much better in practice, even solving problems before the professor. I was always of the mind that a computer program should have a purpose. I didn’t want to just write programs to calculate equations I could do in my head. I wanted to make something useful. I actually developed a clever web-filtering bypass while in school.

Q: Did you study information security in university?