help getting started

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acenyc

Thread author
Jun 30, 2012
McLovin said:
Acenyc said:
I'm testing the malware on an old machine I don't care about. Once I install the malware and If I can't remove it, I'll just do a clean install. I will install virtualbox and run the malware from there over the weekend. I'm trying to install the live security Platinum virus from this link from the virus exchange section from this website:
http://malwaretips.com/Thread-Rogue-Software-Live-Security-Platinum-with-new-icon
I downloaded the file, then extracted it to a folder. When I try to run or install it, it says "windows can't open this file". How do I install the malware on the computer?

Sorry to say but if you have no idea on how and what you are doing with malware I would really recommend not play with it.

How am I going to learn if I don't try, and someone doesn't help me or show me. I'm sure somebody gave you information along the way. I'm a PC/network tech in NYC. I know alot about computers, I'm just kinda new to understanding and removing malware. I have the tools and utilities I need to try. I've watched many videos and I'm just going to follow the instructions from some removal guides. Are you saying you won't show me how to install that virus on my machine? It's an old test computer.

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
Acenyc said:
Are you saying you won't show me how to install that virus on my machine?

Yes that is correct, but I bet other people will show you.

Acenyc

Thread author
Jun 30, 2012
McLovin said:
Acenyc said:
Are you saying you won't show me how to install that virus on my machine?

Yes that is correct, but I bet other people will show you.

Can I ask why you won't show me? How did you learn how to install malware so you could practice removing it?

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
Acenyc said: