Windows
Fav. Antivirus
Avast & Eset

Cowpipe

Level 16
Verified
Well-known
Jun 16, 2014
Hey, good to see another 'geeky security guy' around the forums :) I'm not particularly geeky myself (closet geek) but plenty around here are! Great to see that already you've begun sharing your knowledge. Anyway, I suppose I should say 'welcome' and I hope you enjoy your stay with us, I'm sure we'll all enjoy having you around :)

Reactions: vrb93

LABView707

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Aug 12, 2014
I am a project engineer. I design the software that runs our testing equipment for my work. I use LABView to create my projects.

Reactions: vrb93 and Cowpipe

Cowpipe

Level 16
Verified
Well-known
Jun 16, 2014
I am a project engineer. I design the software that runs our testing equipment for my work. I use LABView to create my projects.

Ah, that sounds pretty interesting. Testing has been something I've long been interested in but never really explored. Correct me if I'm wrong but Labview is the one that uses G (visual programming language)? I always get it mixed up with G-Code which I've used a few times to program CNCs (looked at a manual for G once instead of G-Code and no wonder I couldn't make sense of it).

What kind of testing do you do by the way?

LABView707

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Aug 12, 2014
Here is an example of LABView. Think of it as a flow chart for data. If you can follow a flow chart for electronics then this will make sense.

nrjsxmfm912163998723206173.jpg

Cowpipe

Level 16
Verified
Well-known
Jun 16, 2014
I haven't worked with that kind of logic type programming for years, back when I was a kid messing around programming traffic light signals lol. Never realised that it could get to such a complicated level in your everyday work.

Although in a lot of ways, it's similar to the node based pipelines I've worked with in special effects applications (but I'm no expert in that either).

LABView707

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Aug 12, 2014