Guide | How To How to script a music player quickly in HTML5 (fixed)

The associated guide may contain user-generated or external content.

Dejan

Thread author
Mar 3, 2011
I thought I'd write a small tutorial on how to script a basic HTML5 music player, I'll be writing a guide on how to script a video player soon, but for now I'm having some issues with that, so hopefully this will suffice. HTML5 will be the new standard for HTML (which came in 1999), XHTML and HTML DOM. Although a basic knowledge of HTML will definitely help, HTML5 is much easier to work with and can be learned by even complete newbie's, if you want to learn the whole language (not just what I'm about to show you), visit W3Schools or another tutorial site for help.

Let's get started, first thing you need to know is which browsers HTML5 is compatible with, currently, all known browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Opera, Safari) are compatible with their latest versions, IE 9 although compatible, IE 8 isn't. Now for the specifics, here's a list of the formats browser will support:

IE 9: MP3
Firefox: Ogg, Wav
Opera: Ogg, Wav
Chrome: Ogg, MP3
Safari: MP3, Wav

For this tutorial I'm going to be using ogg since it's compatible with almost all browsers, you can follow this tutorial using any format from the ones above, if you want to convert an audio file or even video file to ogg, you can use this tool. Let's use Nyan Cat audio file for this one ;) Open up a text editor such as Notepad, Wordpad or any other capable editor, I'm using gedit (ubuntu) for this, but it works the same, I recommend Notepad++ also. Now to start with the code, type in the standard HTML tags
PHP:
<html> and </html>
and also between those, type in the
PHP:
<body> </body>
tags, so it should look like this...

PHP:
<html>
<body>
</body>
</html>

Okay, now to fill in the info, to add the audio player, type in
PHP:
<audio src="song.ogg" controls="controls"> </audio>
between
PHP:
<body> and </body>

PHP:
<html>
<body>