Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

SecurityAnalyst

Thread author
May 20, 2017
Hi, MT.

I'm a British security analyst, mainly working with various SIEM solutions for an un-named national healthcare provider... I'm keen to understand malware on a more technical level. I'd be happy to hear suggestions on tools and resources!

Looking forward to getting to know you all

SecAn

SecurityAnalyst

Thread author
May 20, 2017
So what does everyone do and where? I work in the north of England as a security analyst. I've worked for a couple of huge companies in SIEM focused roles and currently work for a national CERT (you may be able to guess which one by tying this comment with the original posting), essentially getting it off the ground.

SecurityAnalyst

Thread author
May 20, 2017
Hey @lab34 - Performance testing sounds like good fun. So are your team effectively trying to break software? My role is quite varied - threat intelligence writing, SIEM investigations, incident management - all round good fun. The recent outbreak of WannaCry across the national health service has highlighted some skill gaps in the team which is why I'm here beginning my journey into malware analysis.

ahity

Level 1
Verified
May 16, 2017
So what does everyone do and where? I work in the north of England as a security analyst. I've worked for a couple of huge companies in SIEM focused roles and currently work for a national CERT (you may be able to guess which one by tying this comment with the original posting), essentially getting it off the ground.

im just testing malware on my main lalptop (dont have lab computer :p) on virtualbox and testing antivirus, its risk. but its better when im not doing anything..
im very newbie i hope i can learn something worth from this forum, maybe about reverse enginering malware or something else about security ..

SecurityAnalyst

Thread author
May 20, 2017