Advice Request Is it possible self educate in cybersecurity?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

VillSkill

Thread author
Oct 21, 2022
Hi,

I have a degree in CS and I want to get skills in cybersecurity and make it my main specialization. By that, I mean I don't want to get a job or internship, I just want to do it for myself. I started to learn online on this site, but I need advice on what to do next.

What are the best resources you would recommend for a newbie? Like YouTube channels, influencers, tutorials or etc. Thank you in advance.

TedCruz

Level 5
Aug 19, 2022
Hi,

I have a degree in CS and I want to get skills in cybersecurity and make it my main specialization. By that, I mean I don't want to get a job or internship, I just want to do it for myself. I started to learn online on this site, but I need advice on what to do next.

What are the best resources you would recommend for a newbie? Like YouTube channels, influencers, tutorials or etc. Thank you in advance.
Are you doing this for a career or for fun? Since no amount of self taught learning will get you hired unless you got the certificates to prove it.

A new startup is looking for an eager self motivated beginner that requires very little coaching and has 75 years of experience in writing Python.

Last edited:
Reactions: VillSkill and plat

plat

Level 29
Top Poster
Sep 13, 2018
Yes, it's possible, but in case you change your mind later, there is a variety of courses and certifications via Bleeping Computer that may add some points to your resume. These are generally not free, though.

You'll have to scroll and browse since the site is vast. You can also follow BC on Twitter as it advertises these things there now and then.

Stenographers

Level 2
Nov 11, 2022
It depends, you need to answer a couple questions to determine where to start:

- What are you securing?
- Who are you securing it from?