Microsoft 365 trial offer blocks access to Windows 10 desktops

Gandalf_The_Grey

Level 76
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Apr 24, 2016
6,571
Windows 10 users are reportedly being blocked from accessing their desktops by full-screen trial offers for the Microsoft 365 productivity suite (formerly Office 365).

These offers (titled "Access granted: We're giving you a free trial of Microsoft 365 Family") are being pushed via full-screen notifications that give the users no choice but to enter their payment information to activate the trial.

They are displayed during the Windows Out of Box Experience (OOBE) before loading the Windows desktop.

The only options available to those seeing these full-screen promos are to "Try for free" and "No, thanks."

After clicking "No, thanks," the user gets sent to a "Confirm your payment option" screen where the only option left is to "Start trial, buy later."

While such screens are shown after doing clean Windows installs and installing feature updates, they usually contain an option for "Skip for now" on the bottom left side of the display. However, this time, Microsoft has replaced that button with a "Privacy and Cookies" link.

"Windows 10 preventing me from booting into desktop without first non-consensually being forced to accept their free trial and $100 monthly thereafter (obviously I cancelled after but WTF Microsoft)," a Reddit user who uploaded a video of this happening said.

"Looks like they accidentally switched over the strings for no thanks and try it buttons. The try it button should actually be the no thanks button," someone else chimed in.
Luckily, the users can cancel after entering the credit card information required to enable the Microsoft 365 Family subscription trial they were forced to pay to access their Windows 10 desktops.

If they choose not to or forget to do it until the trial expires, they will be charged $109 per month while the subscription remains active.

"Visit your Microsoft account to turn off recurring billing or to cancel and receive a prorated refund," the payment screen also says.

To avoid receiving this offer, you should start the installation process without an Internet connection, which will also allow you to create a local account if you don't want to link the desktop to your Microsoft account.

While these issues are likely caused by a bug, BleepingComputer reached out to Microsoft to learn more about the changes and will update the story when we receive a response.
 

About us

  • MalwareTips is a community-driven platform providing the latest information and resources on malware and cyber threats. Our team of experienced professionals and passionate volunteers work to keep the internet safe and secure. We provide accurate, up-to-date information and strive to build a strong and supportive community dedicated to cybersecurity.

User Menu

Follow us

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter to know first about the latest cybersecurity incidents and malware threats.

Top