JakeXPMan

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Oct 20, 2014
Bought a used Laptop with Windows 7.

Normally I use a System Recovery on a partition to restore Windows in the past. This is my first Windows laptop "without" a set partition backup, but it has a fresh install of W.7 (32bit) So to keep that as is, the Image program build into Windows 7, should come in handy.

My questions are,

1. Can I use a USB stick with "8GB" and set the image onto that, do I need to erase or format first ? I don't have an external HDD, just USB sticks around.

2. Is there a way to know how much space I need before starting the Image backup ? Data files I don't need backed up (none anyway) just the clean Windows.

3. I am new to trying this backup imaging, I did try Reflect and AOMEI with help and still killed Windows XP, partition caused unable to boot... and lost some files... so I dont wanna go back to that just yet.

4. I also heard you have to back up Windows every 30 days or it will be unactivated and wont work, is this true?

5. Should I update Windows drivers and security patches before or after making an Image ?

I think that is a good start, anxious to boot it up and get started later after dinner, thanks in advance :)

Reactions: DardiM and kev216
A

Alkajak

1. Generally 8GB won't be enough if you're planning on making the image after the Windows Updates.

2. Windows will allow you to choose if you want specific folders saved or just Windows.

4. Haven't experienced this myself. Been using system images for a while.

5. You should definitely do all Windows Updates before imaging to save yourself the trouble down the road. With that said, doing the updates before the image will require more capacity than 8GB.

Rishi

Level 19
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Dec 3, 2015
Whatever you do if you want to keep Windows 7 do not install kb3035583 or you will end up with Windows 10 most likely.
2016-02-27 19_49_45-Get Windows 10.png

JakeXPMan