Status
Not open for further replies.

Myriad

Level 7
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
May 22, 2016
OK .... not all of these are new , but they have arrived recently compared to the grand-daddy of
Linux pen-testing distros - Kali ( formerly Backtrack ).

I am studying to improve my knowledge of networks and security , and I find these useful .

Parrot Security .... " Cloud oriented " , based on Debian
similar to Kali with a good selection of tools

Cyborg Hawk ..... fairly recent Ubuntu based newcomer from a team in India
claims to be " The World’s Most Advanced Penetration Testing Distro "

BlackArch .... see below

They have one thing in common , in that they all incorporate a huge collection of ready-to-use
tools for all manner of penetration testing scenarios.

BlackArch is currently my favorite and as it's name suggests , it is based on Arch Linux.

Has anyone else here tried them ?

I'd be interested to hear any experiences , preferences and opinions :)

Last edited:
L

LabZero

First of all it is appropriate to say that the pentesting, how we consider it, is required by many big companies that require the advice of experts to perform controlled penetration testing for check the stability and security of their platforms.

The Penetration Testing therefore the aim of identifying computer vulnerabilities, noting many details on the flaws that allow unauthorized access.

For study reasons I have used:

BackBox | A Free Open Source Community Project

You can also used BB in Live mode to test without the need of storing any data on the disk, so when you exit, all the changes and the data stored during the session are lost.

These are some of the currently available tools:

- Denial of Service
- Network Mapping
- Privilege Escalation
- Sniffing
- Spoofing
- Vulnerability Assessment
- Exploitation
- CMS Scanners
- Wireless Analysis
- And others....

The tools are easily installable via Synaptic and from the command line.