Newly a Beginner Programming Student

jamescv7

Level 85
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
Hi everyone :), well I came here for a help since even though its a basic calculator program on Visual Basic 6 (which our standard program), my problem is how to figure it on source code itself.

I know everything is in the internet (Source Code itself) but basically this picture that we've made would be the base and our teacher managed to worked for it.

dpd53m.png

I know how to make it if its our own version of calculator but since this picture shown above was our standard form.

The name property were as follows:

Labels: lblsign (top) and lblanswer (below)
Text boxes: txtfirst and txtsecond
Commands: cmdadd, cmdsub, cmdmul, cmddiv.

We are allowed to conduct a research to found the source code and of course I'm wiliing to learn.

Actually our activity will be held on saturday but we can practice it in our home. :)

P.S: Sorry I'm really a newbie for it since a first time for me. :lol:

pcjunklist

Level 1
Dec 28, 2011
I am having trouble in what your asking, are you looking for the code? It has been many years since I used MS vbasic but if its a .vbs file you can open it with notepad (this is a better version http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.1.4.html)

jamescv7

Level 85
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
Hi pcjunklist :), basically a code for that the picture showed and to make it work as a calculator.

There are lots of source code but different style of calculator.

So I want to know if what is the code to make this calculator work on the picture above.

MetalShaun

Level 1
Mar 3, 2011
Its been a while since i have done any vb.net. But all you will have to do is in the the click event handler for each button put somehting liek this (Syntax may not be perfect).

you want to dimension the text from the text box and the answer.

dim digit_one as integer
dim digit_two as integer
dim ans as integer

digit_one = txtone.text