Opinion on rouge Chrome Updater

(Dynamic Analysis) Analysis Tools Used

Piholasimam

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Jan 19, 2018
I've been studying this sample on and off for a couple months now.

It was originally part of a software bundler.

I have a ton of Screenshots, .logs , and also the files themselves.

Was wondering if anyone would be able to assist me with analysis.
I will link a VirusTotal Result for a preview.

Respectfully,
Pi

VirusTotal

Attachments

• setup window.JPG
    setup window.JPG
    48.8 KB · Views: 802
  • setup.log
    219.7 KB · Views: 484

AtlBo

Level 28
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Dec 29, 2014
What better way to pipe malware into a PC than through an "updater"? This seems like building malware writers a freeway into the system. I wouldn't keep it installed based on what you have posted and attached.

Did you want specifics on the installation registry key changes and so on? That kind of information has been hard to find for me in the past. I guess the registry is still partly the great unknown. Maybe you could make a short list of activity you have noticed from the app. I would be interested to see what it actually does...

tim one

Level 21
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Jul 31, 2014
I've quickly given a look at the VT report, and according to User32.dll import this sample also uses GetKeyState, GetKeyboardState, and SetWindowsHookEx.

Well, the GetKeyState function is the weak ring of each keylogger because this function (with GetAsyncKeyState and other) is one of the most detected by a good antivirus.
Also, GetKeyboardState and GetKeyState can only do a check on the pressure of a specific key.

That's why, in order to capture the keyboard input on system global level, it uses SetWindowsHookEx:

SetWindowsHookEx function (Windows)

In particular, see the hook WH_KEYBOARD and WH_KEYBOARD_LL.

If a WH_KEYBOARD hook is set as global, then the procedure has to be implemented in a dll.