Battle OS X and Windows: Trend Micro Max or Norton Security

rosendalek

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Aug 16, 2016
I am coming up for renewal with Trend Micro Maximum security. But im also liking the features of Norton Security W Backup 22.8.

I have read all the features and now its a matter of asking for opinions, to help me decide.

Norton offers 3 devices for $79.95
Trend only 2 for $69.95 (renewal discount)

I only use OSX and Windows 10 64bit, so not sure if I need the extra device for $10 more

omidomi

Level 71
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Well-known
Apr 5, 2014
Trend Micro is a little heavy on ram btw Norton is lighter.(I use Trend Micro 5 years ago I have bad dream on it :( )
Trend Micro has more Fps than Norton.
both of them are strong.
As @frogboy said we suggested you to use Norton :D

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
I've been using Trend Micro for about 12 years now and have watched it grow from a signature based antivirus to a cloud based antivirus. Yes I've tried other antiviruses including Norton but have always come back to Trend for the reason it's so simple to use, yet if you want to maximise the most of Trend you can. Norton/Symantec is really good when it comes to the business side of things no question there but when you're looking at a consumer side have always gone for Trend. Trend also has/still does (from what I've seen over the years) the best web filter/shield out there. Most people will say that people say that you can just ignore the message and continue and hope that Trend will block it, but to me if that ever happened I'd just power on the virtual machine and go for gold playing with malware in there as I do in the Malware Hub here on MalwareTips.

Trend Micro is a little heavy on ram btw Norton is lighter.(I use Trend Micro 5 years ago I have bad dream on it :( )