Troubleshoot OS X Vsearch-like Trojan and Ad Issues

Olivia Franco

Thread author
May 3, 2016
Hi everyone!

I am a 25-year-old at a low-intermediate tech-savvy level, however I am new to Mac. I have had my Macbook Pro for about three years now with no problems whatsoever. I obtained a virus 04/30/16 by accessing a video streaming website for 5-10 seconds. Now I seem to have a trojan like virus that adapts quickly and affects my Google Chrome and Safari browser searching. As indicated in my summary, I am having many ads overrun my screen and I cannot remove them. I don't have and extensions downloaded to any browsers except ones that I know (Skype, GoogleDocs, etc.) and I only use this laptop for internet searching and school research projects. I occasionally use this laptop for my Amazon account and was attempting to compare pricing for a TV show. Instead I accessed a video streaming site, obtained this virus and uninstalled two programs it downloaded to my computer right away. Still having tabs open with junk ads anytime I click a search box or link. Needless to say, I had to post this from another device. I appreciate any advice or help.

A

Alkajak

If possible on another device, download Malwarebytes.
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac

Transfer and install the dmg file.
Scan.

(Reset Chrome)
  • Disable wifi and open Chrome.
  • Settings > Reset Settings.

(Hard-Reset Safari)
  • Backup your Safari bookmarks.
  • Open Safari.
  • Preferences > Advanced > Enable Develop Menu > Empty Caches.
  • History > Clear history/cookies.
  • Disable all extensions.
  • Exit Safari.
  • Open Finder.
  • Navigate to User/Home folder.
  • Go to View Options / Press Command+J.
  • Check "Show Library Folder".
  • Trash Library/Caches/com.apple.Safari/Caches.db.

Re-enable wifi and see how things went.

Install an AV once you're cleaned up. http://www.avira.com/en/free-antivirus-mac

Avast AV (Free) is another good one, but slows down my MBP quite a bit.