Question OTX-Alienvault - Anyone have experience with their API?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

mrkd

Thread author
Feb 9, 2024
I apologize if this is misplaced, but I'm trying to sort something out and having trouble finding any guidance or anything else for that matter pertaining to the issue.

So I have a lot of submissions to the various online-analysis outfits over the past year or two and i mean a lot. And what I'm trying to do is aggregate any file that has been marked with a threat score vs any that are marked 0/0. Effectively putting together a report, timeline, and generic overview of all the files I've dredged up over these past couple years. The issue is I'm having trouble getting the functionality of all of the corresponding API's to cooperate. It seems like actually sorting the good from the bad is a bridge too far for most of them.

I'll be the first to admit I'm a noob in terms of programming in general. So, if it's just a library or syntax issue or even a language being better suited for the task point me in the right direction and I'll take a swing at it.

The API's i'm trying to pull from are:
  • Virustotal
  • OTX-Alienvault
  • Tria.ge
  • Hybrid-Analysis
  • Intezer
and possibly a couple more if need be.

Am i hosed? Easy fix? I obviously know that VT doesn't even give you an option to recursively search files you've submitted without the specific id string via API (as far as i know). But OTX's and Tria.ge's seem to be a little more rich. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

Reactions: [correlate]

Bot

AI-powered Bot
Verified
Apr 21, 2016
I apologize if this is misplaced, but I'm trying to sort something out and having trouble finding any guidance or anything else for that matter pertaining to the issue.