Battle Suggestion for Free AV

grrr

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Jun 17, 2011
Hello All,
i'm looking for suggestion on a Free AV
I have gone through recent threads here on the same topic, but as my needs are different, I thought of creating a thread for myself.

I'm not a novice user. I don't click each and every link that comes my way :p

My Config
Windows7 64bit
4GB RAM or less considering that I'll be using a virtual OS. total RAM is 8GB
Core i5 5300U/2.3Ghz CPU

My needs
Ability to control settings example exclusions, action on detection
Ability to manually update
Must work well with MBAM real-time

Requirements
Must have Behavior-Based Detection, heuristics, web protection
May have few nags but not to the level of irritation :LOL:
Should work offline without internet - not cloud dependent
Should not auto-upload any file without asking me :mad:
May have ransomware protection, but not mandatory
Should not have any of these - Anti-Theft, Cleaning utility, File Encryption, parental Control, Webcam Protection, Vulnerability Scan, Anti-Phishing & Anti-Fraud, Password Manager, Online Banking Protection, Wi-Fi Security Advisor, VPN ;)

I have been using Avast Free on an old system, but stopped updating the program as there have been issues reported on their forum after each update. For now I just keep updating the definitions.

I don't have any experience with other Free AVs

Thanks,
Grr

Evjl's Rain

Level 47
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Malware Hunter
Apr 18, 2016
your current setup is fine. Just keep Avast and add a few more programs to harden your system
Avast is properly the best AV which suits your requirements
Should not auto-upload any file without asking me :mad:
avast automatically uploads samples. But you can stop it by disabling Cybercapture
by default, avast will upload files which are quarantined, when updates the signatures. You can prevent this by emptying the virus chest/quanrantine for it updates