The Art of Computer Programming

NullPointerException

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Aug 25, 2014
I am a hardcore mathematician. And I am soon close to achieve my Ph.D in CS. I believe I am a pretty decent programmer (my code from my co-employees was never submitted in r/badcode or r/horrorstories.) But as regular users should know, I speak more English than code while talking about programming. That's because when I was younger (in my 20's) my users and even my co-workers fell asleep whenever I explained them how I programmed their software. When I DO get techy, I get extremely tech-y. I actually read and understood Discrete Mathematics (by Donald) at the age of fifteen.

Now, don't get me wrong, as any scientist or any decent person should be, I try to be humble. I believe that there's always room for more learning. And I after all couldn't read the Art of Computer Programming at the following ages.
  1. First time : Age is 13. Couldn't understand a word. I had nightmares, shifting from Pascal to Assembly, was a terror for me.
  2. Second time : Age is 16. With three years of more experience in coding and first year in CE (engineering I took but later switched to science, I like theoretical side more) I understood only a bits and pieces.
  3. Third time : Age of 27. I was suddenly reminded of TAoCP by a friend of mine, still used to work for the FBI. Then I joked that I helped Knuth to write this book and then I "gave a tuition to him." I was quickly humbled when I read the first 20 pages. I read the first two pages and quickly realized his mathematics is extremely hardcore.
  4. Fourth time : Age of 27, the highest I got was Volume 1's 100 page.
  5. Fifth time : Just yesterday, and I gotta say I am happy I was improved a lot during a period of roughly six years.