Guide | How To The Beginners Guide To Sandboxie

The associated guide may contain user-generated or external content.

Chromatinfish 123

Level 21
Thread author
Verified
May 26, 2014
Hello "Community"!

I wanted to write this article after remembering the frustration of trying to understand sandboxie when I was a newbie at security (2 years ago). A few days ago I installed it again, and after hours of searching articles, I finally felt confident to use sandboxie permanently. I decided to put aside an hour or two to write this article so.. umm... everybody else doesn't need to spend hours reading guides.

Installing

Installing is pretty straightforward for sandboxie. Install using default settings and you're all set! The free version is enough for security, but the pro version adds more convenience as you can:

-Automatically run programs in a sandbox, no need to manually add the program

-Run 2 or more sandboxes at the same time (So your browser and email is separated from your suspicious software)
Also keep in mind that the freeware version has a delay in protection.

What does Sandboxie do, anyways?

Sandboxie is like a container in a box. If you run a browser in a sandbox, you will separate it from the real system, almost like a virtual computer but they are still related more, like you can still browse your documents to upload an important document into Dropbox. However, if malware comes in by a drive by download, it will not be able to write into the system, only infecting the sandbox contents.

Now for my favorite real life scenario scenes...

You have a closet full of clothes. You find out that your sweaters are wet, so you put them in a separate box inside the closet. The wet clothes then won't ruin the good ones and you will put them in the dryer later.

Configuring Sandboxie

Sandboxing the web browser:
Open the sandbox window and click Sandbox>>Defaultbox>>Run In Sandbox>>Web Browser