Understanding Router - Short Guide

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

LabZero

Thread author
Hello everyone.

I decided to write this guide because that's the topic that I'm studying in these months and I hope that it is useful to understand this device that allows us to access the internet world.

This guide refers only to the home using routers. Many things were omitted, many topics taken lightly. All the solutions I share are for home use. About business infrastructure, the topic is different, although most of the things said here are also attributable to small business networks.

INTRODUCTION

The talk here is quite complex and would require extensive knowledge on certain aspects. However I will try to be as simple as possible what we can all understand.

The guide is intended only to routers. Modems works in a completely different way.

Finally the whole matter is just referring to the most common facilities that we use every day at home and not in the general case.

NAT, PAT: how it works.

The technique of natting/patting (Network Address Translation, Port Address Translation) comes from the fact that the current 32-bit ip address system (ipv4), has reached saturation, ip addresses are gone, or are finishing. The NAT technique allows entire LAN to "be seen" from the outside, then from the public internet, as a single host and then have assigned just one public ip address, instead of having a public address for each host.

Why the Internet package cannot work with the private lan ip?

This is one of those things that would require knowledge of the routing process. In fact, take it as good, in a network with one or more routers, all networks separated by router, cannot have ip addresses that are in the same address space, or on the same subnet, for example.

Lan1: host: 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
Lan2: host: 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0

Separated by a router. This won't work

Difference between NAT and PAT