Basic Security Weebarras' config

Weebarra

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 5, 2017
I tried my best to find out the information required but as you can see i am not technically minded hence the reason i joined this site. Some of the info is missing as i don't know how to find it :oops:

My current security (Bitdefender Total Security) is due to run out soon and i am here looking for much valued advice from you guys as to what i should be looking at. BD is slowing my laptop down (big time) and i need something that is easy-ish to use.

Arequire

Level 29
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Feb 10, 2017
A few things I'd suggest doing:
  • Add a second opinion scanner. I'd recommend Zemana Antimalware but there's also HitmanPro or Malwarebytes. Second opinion scanners are used to detect and remove malware your AV might have missed.
  • Add an ad blocker. Malvertising is a growing threat and an ad blocker can defend against it. I recommend uBlock Origin but Adguard is another option.
  • Create a image backup. Image backups are used to restore your operating system if something goes wrong. I personally use AOMEI Backupper for image and data backups but others recommend Macrium Reflect for pure image backups.
  • Add HTTPS Everywhere to Chrome. It forcibly encrypts many websites and the connections on them when they'd usually default to unencrypted connections.
  • You could also add a password manager to store your account passwords. Password managers store your passwords in what is essentially an encrypted vault and can generate randomised passwords that will increase your accounts' security. I use KeePass myself which is an offline manager but LastPass is an extremely popular solution as well as long as you're okay with storing your passwords in the cloud.