What makes a security company improve or degrade their products?

RoboMan

Level 34
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jun 24, 2016
Within the years pass by, we've seen security companies take their failed products and basically re-built them from scratch in order to create what now is a great piece of program (such as Norton).

What do you think these companies went through in order to achieve the secret of success? Is it a new team? Research? User feedback? Maybe developers here can give clever answers, or maybe any of you guys have a clue :=)

RoboMan

Level 34
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jun 24, 2016
A direct insight for this question I might not have, since I am not a developer yet myself.
But I think I might have a good clue in this matter:
I would like to use BitDefender and Microsoft as an example:
I always have known that BD was a superior malware detective since I first discovered it in 02-03.
But for some strange reason, it's UI has always been buggy and sluggish, even to this day I would guess.
I cannot understand how such skilled developers cannot fix the same recurring bugs year in year out.
I mean everyone knows it and everyone talks about it in all forums also in all years.
And I feel MS has also struggled with this kind of dilemma since their first NT kernels,
which has kind of been a ghost in the machine that has followed them even into v8.1 which I am using today.
I simply cannot understand how it is possible?
If I ever learn to develop and understand cpu programming, debugging and disasembly,
I guess my OCD nature would never let those bugs through in the first place.
Sorry if longwinded....
I guess there must be a reason why such issues have not been resolved, as well as a reason why some companies did and upgraded their software. I wish hopefully anyone here has an answer.

ispx

Level 13
Verified
Well-known
Jun 21, 2017