Why. Does. Everyone. Use. AVG.

gbpackerfan

Thread author
Jun 14, 2011
Gosh, EVERYONE it seems (except for you guys) seem to use AVG! It's as if it's the only anti-virus they know! Why is that?

gbpackerfan

Thread author
Jun 14, 2011
Tom172 said:
http://bit.ly/wh6AZM

One of the main reasons.

Wonder why they don't actually take the time to research for a reliable antivirus :) (Comodo Internet Security) And a lot of people act as if AVG is the BEST antivirus out there.

Roti

Feb 6, 2012
gbpackerfan said:
Tom172 said:
http://bit.ly/wh6AZM

One of the main reasons.

Wonder why they don't actually take the time to research for a reliable antivirus :) (Comodo Internet Security) And a lot of people act as if AVG is the BEST antivirus out there.

I've never used AVG before but I can tell you that there are better free antivirus than AVG. It's kind of weird because I thought
Kaspersky were ruling the world because most of the time their fanboys can be seen everywhere.

DiabloBlack

Nov 5, 2011
Just like Tom172 said. it's all about marketing. Top of the page on Google sells products. Personally I'd take the second choice in that search any day and thats Avast.

Jack

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 24, 2011
Roti said:
It's kind of weird because I thought
Kaspersky were ruling the world because most of the time their fanboys can be seen everywhere.
Nope, it's not Kaspersky , according to the latest OPSWAT reports (Q4 2011 Antivirus and Backup Client Market Share Report PDF) , Avast is 'ruling' the world right now while AVG is only on the 5th place and Kaspersky is on place #7.

5w07N.png

In North America things are a little different however AVG is not no.1, MSE on the first place while AVG is on the 3rd place.....

i1zg7.png

It's all about marketing and product visibility , most of the world doesn't know or care about computer security ....

Prorootect

Level 69
Verified
Nov 5, 2011