Worthwhile to use XP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

malbky

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 23, 2011
I am actually a windows seven user. My cousin has a desktop. I have currently installed Windows 7 on it, but I re arm it and use it. Its almost 6 months now. I do own a genuine Windows XP Professional license. Is it ok if temprovarily like for a year I switch his desktop to XP? After which mostly he will be purchasing Windows 7 or Windows 8. Ie at least before Jan 2014 the switch will be made as within that time he will get a good job and some bucks. What precautions should I follow.
Like adding extra stuff like EMET etc.
Is it safe to use XP?. Dont worry he is not a complete newbie user and does not engage in high risk activities. His risk status is medium and I plan on installing Kaspersky 2013 on his PC. Thanks for your help.
I am actually waiting for ZOU and a few others to comment.

D

Deleted member 178

- For Aware Power-User, XP is light on system, so on a powerful machine, it will be very good for gaming for example.
- XP need lot of security stuff : a firewall and an AV, all the Win updates, EMET and a secure browser like Chrome is a minimum.

malbky

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 23, 2011
I plan on doing all of that stuff for XP. I also will be installing SBIE or Bufferzone.
My config would be to set up
KIS 2013
Chrome and FF with ABP
All Windows updates
EMET
Sandbox
MBAM and HMP for scanning and cleaning

Ink

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
Why both Chrome and Firefox?
Firefox requires additional 3rd-party plugins ie. Flash Player, PDF Viewer.
Chrome already has Flash Player and PDF Viewer, which both are updated silently.

Less third-party software = Better protection

malbky

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 23, 2011
I always prefer to keep a backup browser. Usually my main was opera and backup was chrome. But recently my main has become chrome and backup ff.
Opera has become unstable. May be i will give it a shot.

jim lin

Level 8