Question x32 dbg not showing strings

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

barbarian1992

Thread author
Jun 21, 2023
Hi Everyone,

I am not an expert malware reverse engineering.

I have been struggling with one sample.

Opening it in ghidra shows me many usefull strings like "psexec", "mega login" (may be for data exfiltration)
But when i load the sample in x32dbg and try to search for strings (all modules) i cannot see the strings i saw in ghidra. (may be they are being dynamically generated)

My plan was to put a break point on them and try to analyze the stack and maybe figure our what it is doing.

Can anyone help me on how to find the strings??

Reactions: Nevi and upnorth

struppigel

Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Apr 9, 2020
If you are able to find the code location where those strings are used in Ghidra, you can use those addresses to find the same code in x32dbg. Look at the memory map in x32dbg to determine the base address of the image, then rebase the image in Ghidra and the addresses should match in both.
Alternatively disable ASLR before you execute the sample in x32dbg.

It will be easier to help you if you share the sample.

barbarian1992

Thread author
Jun 21, 2023
If you are able to find the code location where those strings are used in Ghidra, you can use those addresses to find the same code in x32dbg. Look at the memory map in x32dbg to determine the base address of the image, then rebase the image in Ghidra and the addresses should match in both.
Alternatively disable ASLR before you execute the sample in x32dbg.

It will be easier to help you if you share the sample.
Hi
Thanks for the reply
sure i will try it sure i will share the sample

barbarian1992

Thread author
Jun 21, 2023
so in x32 dbg you can see we have no "mega"

Attachments

• image_2023-06-21_193339249.png
    image_2023-06-21_193339249.png
    79.7 KB · Views: 135

struppigel

Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Apr 9, 2020