OneDay

Level 21
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Aug 22, 2014
Hello to you all..

Let's start by saying I'm not a security expert, but I've used and tested so many programs, I can't even remember. Many friends of mine almost always call me to fix some security related issues on their computer or configure their newly-purchased PC.
Antivirus programs have never been an issue with me. You're gonna test 5 or 6, but in the end, you'll find the best solution. The most hard decision regards firewalls. Basic or advanced users, doesn't matter, at some point had (or will have) an issue with a firewall. Many can't stand the hussle and use the Windows Firewall. I understand.. No compatibility issues, no system slowdown.. But as an XP user, WF for me is not enough.
Here's why: WF doesn't provide adequate outbound protection. But here comes another question. Do we really need an outbound firewall? Many would say: no. Simple as that. If you practice your common sense and know what you download, you run no risk. They advocate that if you let a virus slip into your PC, you've lost the fight. So, your focus should be put onto proactive defense (fight something before it gets into your PC). Also, if this virus gets in your machine, it could possibly harm your firewall, rendering it useless. And here we come to outbound firewalls.. All of them provide inbound protection, too. Of course, for an ordinary user, they might seem a little too 'advanced'. And, the truth is, they are.. But who can reassure you that what got into your PC or even what YOU let get into your PC, is trusted? Here the outbound firewall takes action.. Its HIPS component, its auto-sandbox feature or even by blocking any outbound request made by an unrecognised executable. So, for me, there is no question.. Outbound firewalls are absolutely necessary in someone's security configuration. Even if you trust your judgement 100%, you can't simply trust the internet or even your antivirus..