Solved Adware (on Steam) Remaining after Malware Attack

Tyler Free

Level 1
Thread author
Aug 19, 2016
Hello, this is my first time posting here. Let me know if I am doing anything wrong on my post, though I tried to read the instructions of posting before doing so.

I am having an issue with adware from the remainder of a malware attack on my computer. I don't believe there is malware remaining on my computer, though I wouldn't say I'm an expert to confirm that. However, I do have something constantly placing adware popups on Steampowered.com, which is the Valve Corporation's game marketplace website for Steam. These popups appear on all web browsers, as well as the Steam browser. I have taken steps to remove this adware, to no avail. I have attempted to reset my Internet settings on Internet Explorer and Chrome, reset Sync settings, uninstall Steam and delete htmlcache files for Steam, but nothing has worked. I have used a multitude of Anti-virus cleaners and scanners, finding nothing most of the time, aside from the recent find on the AdwCleaner log, which has not fixed the problem, though the folder looks sketchy all the same, leading me to believe that there is still an active adware program on my computer, but, like I said, I'm no expert. That's why I'm here.

If there is any more information needed, please let me know and I will get back to you very soon. I have been fighting this adware tooth and nail for the past few days now and will be watching my thread as closely as I can. I also want to thank any assistance given beforehand and appreciate any insight and help received from this forum.

Attachments

• AdwCleaner[C4].txt
    2 KB · Views: 0
  • Addition.txt
    69.7 KB · Views: 1
  • aswMBR.txt
    2.6 KB · Views: 0
  • FRST.txt
    94.5 KB · Views: 1

TwinHeadedEagle

Level 41
Verified
Mar 8, 2013
Hello,

FRST.gif
Fix with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool

icon_exclaim.gif
This fix was created for this user for use on that particular machine.
icon_exclaim.gif