Advice Request Are speedup / cleanup softwares needed?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Are speedup / cleanup software needed?

• Yes

Votes: 12 63.2%
  • No

Votes: 7 36.8%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Duotone

Level 10
Verified
Well-known
Mar 17, 2016
We clean our house, room, office, etc... the same thing with PC we need to clean it once in a while. Do we need cleanup software's "YES" IMO, but for speedup it depends on you as those setting done by such software can be done manually but I I'm not that technical so I take advantage of WiseCare doing it for me. With regards to defrag don't even think about if your using an SSD unless you have Diskeeper or Perfectdisk which can handle/prevent fragmentation.

Take caution in using registry cleaner not all are safe to use, not also advisable as it can trash your PC or some software, haven't had any issue w/ Privazer though.

Privazer;
WiseCare;
Uninstall tool; and
Diskeeper for me...

Last edited:

tim one

Level 21
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Jul 31, 2014
I use just CCleaner.

Optimization apps, and in particular those that have advanced registry cleaning features, can cause irreparable damage to the system that might force you to re-format it.
This is still not being mentioned enough by the many websites that advise the best optimization programs, without highlighting the risks.

Keep in mind that Windows is a closed system (closed source) and the developers of these optimization programs (and in particular the registry cleaners) do not have access to the source code of Windows.
This means that they use their experience, and sometimes this means that programs can make mistakes in the optimization.
An optimization program that modify registry keys can create instability, create blocks, slow down the system, and even prevent it from starting.

roger_m

Level 41
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Dec 4, 2014