AVAST 2015 R3 (build number 2015.10.3.2223)

Joined
May 25, 2014
Messages
1,545
#1
Hi all,

New version AVAST 2015 R3 (build number 2015.10.3.2223) has been released:

New features and Improvements in Avast 2015 R3:
  • Grimefighter is now redone and called Cleanup.
    - runs without need of reboot
    - much faster
    - runs on more devices (better compatibility)
  • Improved Windows 10 compatibility
  • Ability to check compatibility issues with other antivirus software
  • Host-based intrusion prevention system (HIPS): an installed software package which monitors a single host for suspicious activity by analyzing events occurring within that host
  • StreamFilter with HTTPS scanning is now available also for Windows XP/Vista
  • NG is not using Volume Shadow Copy Service anymore
  • Beta version will now be updated automatically once new beta version released


How to install:

1. Update from existing Avast version

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe



Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe

Instructions how to use it can be easily found:
- https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle



Thank you very much to everyone who contributed on release!
Avast team

SOURCE: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173591.0
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
147
#4
hips blocking it own kind i mean action performing by avast itself when i tested in beta stage, but unfortunately NG is not worked in my pc tried 3 times uninstall and re-install, i gave up using the beta. :(
 
Joined
May 25, 2014
Messages
1,545
#5
NG has certain requirements, if theyre not met its not going to give you the option to install it.

HIPS was buggy in the Beta stage but they might have worked on it :)
 

Enju

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
444
#6
Avast always does this, they include such interesting features but never really flesh them out. :mad:
I was a long time Avast 4 user and loved it but since then they have included so many unfinished and unnecessary features in it.
 

jamescv7

Level 61
Trusted
Joined
Mar 15, 2011
Messages
12,638
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#7
Has anybody had a look at the HIPS?
This is the actually HIPS pop-up ICYMI (in case you miss it) -----> check this link

In my view they should act HIPS as a full blown concept and the BB concept should take care those modification types that same as malicious execution.
 
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
462
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
ESET
#8
Avast always does this, they include such interesting features but never really flesh them out. :mad:
I was a long time Avast 4 user and loved it but since then they have included so many unfinished and unnecessary features in it.
I second that, Avast is a major player in the security field and it is always innovating with great ideas; the problem is that Avast has some problems with execution, leading to this perceived scenario of unfinished and unnecessary features.

I will test this release and see how it performs, but these days Avira or Panda free are my choices of free antivirus.
 
Likes: Enju
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
4,055
#9
I bet HIPS in Avast comes out as nothing but passive HIPS like support for other modules...atleast in this version. Will see how its improvements & implementation further grows... but for now seems basic passive HIPS, passive in the sense..dont expect anything good for now in terms of realtime protection from HIPS itself.
 

Similar Threads

Similar Threads