Troubleshoot Avast Replacement

Gadsilla

Thread author
May 10, 2018
Briefly explain your current issue(s)
Looking for a new anti virus that I can replace Avast with.
Steps taken to resolve, but have been unsuccessful
I've looked through different forums, and the internet in general. I've found that a lot of lists telling you what AW to buy is often sponsored by the anti viruses themselves, or the creators of the list have some other indirect profit motive. Therefore I don't find it as reliable, unlike this forum which appears very genuine.
Hello, I'm a current Avast user with very little to no experience within the technicalities of how anti viruses work or anything beyond that in this field. I've been using Avast for around four years, and I don't like the direction Avast has taken lately. It appears that Avast is aiming at becoming the jack of all trades, which in my perception often ends up with being the master of none. Avast has also gotten quite annoying lately constantly poking me to purchase a new software they've created, like Avast driver updater, Avast cleanup, Avast securline VPN, Avast passords, ect. I'm using my Avast together with Malwarebytes premium, and I've never had any issue with Malewarebytes.

Here's a screenshot of my Avast: Screenshot - 82e42a86ad54fadfb35ac89581c342ce - Gyazo
It's asking me to purchase Avast cleanup, disguised as me having the ability to clean by clicking ''Løs Problemer'' ''Solve the issues''.

Due to the reasons mentioned above I've decided to not renew my Avast premier and I'm looking for a new anti virus. I'm looking for one that isn't needy, and only serves its purpose as an anti virus. I'd prefer one that uses very little resources. Through my observation on the internet looking at antiviruses it appears that Bitdefender is a very popular anti virus, however there appears to be some sort of eccentric behavior around it which might disguise a reality where Bitdefender isn't as good as it's perceived.