Cerenas's Security Configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cerenas

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 7, 2017
I'm in IT so I have some basic knowledge about security and keeping myself from harm. No visiting or clicking on shady websites or ads.

All of my accounts have 2FA (the ones that support it like Microsoft, Google, Steam, LastPass etc.). Almost all of my accounts are registered with a random generated password with LastPass (some websites don't support long passwords somehow).

Windows Defender is configured to scan weekly, besides that I'm running Malwarebytes scan once in a while. Bitdefender Internet Security 2018 is in default settings with every security option on and checking for updates every hour.

I try to keep all my applications up-to-date as well as my drivers.

No need for backup of Windows or other partitions. Backup in place for important files with Acronis True Image. A lot of other stuff is also saved online (LastPass, OneDrive, Chrome settings/history, Windows settings, etc.)

Last edited:
Reactions: WPMan Pro

Cerenas

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 7, 2017
bitdefender 2017 or 2018
2018, like mentioned in my post. It's the recent beta they put online.

I would suggest you enable UAC and Macrium Reflect for backups and system images. ;)

Thanks for sharing with us at MT. :)
I second this advice. Enable UAC and use something for system images at the very least, being in IT you know things such as hardware failure or critical system file corruption can and do happen.
Thanks for your comments, I'll enable UAC when I get home. I'm currently not using backups because all my important files are on OneDrive (I also use the setting that puts user folders on OneDrive, like My Pictures, My Documents, etc.). But since both of you recommend it, is there still a reason to do backups beside that? I can imagine files on OneDrive could get corrupted if they're also corrupted on your computer.

Winter Soldier

Level 25
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known