Solved Cobwebs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gnosis

Level 5
Thread author
Apr 26, 2011
I really don't have a issue yet that I am aware of, but I did notice a vast cobweb network in the bottom of my tower. The motherboard is only touched by the webs in one place, but the rest of the hardware is bare with the exception of a little dust. What I want to ask is:

Will cobwebs cause static electricity problems? If so, do I remove them, or just kill the spider that might be responsible for triggering the potential for micro conductor damaging static???

I know that I am being laughed at right now, but it's ok, it would not be the first time.
:)

Exterminator

Community Manager
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Oct 23, 2012
Gave me a little chuckle but it is actually a good question

Cobwebs are formed by charged dust particles and spider webs are formed by spider silk which is non-conductive.But as far as I know neither of these will cause static electricity.

I majored in science at the University of Google.

Upvote 0

Ink

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
It may be an idea to clean out the dust and cobwebs, relocating the spider in the process.

Upvote 0
I

illumination

I am kind of anal when it comes to computers and being clean. I have seen to many burnt up systems caused by this. Even if just a little dust, i would get out the canned air and go to town :D

Upvote 0

softwareFREEk

Level 1
Verified
Dec 27, 2012
Gnosis can I please assure you that nobody is laughing at you my friend just enjoying a little chuckle with exterminator20 :D
there would be quite a few readers out there if they were honest thinking exactly the same questions (not me of course :lol: ) as you but probably none with the brass to put it out there on MT forum..+2 kudos.. (..I can't award you anymore than this as I do not have enough street cred yet :p..)....now back to business..I agree with illumination Gnosis I would get out the canned air and go to town..!!!!