Guide | How To EFF Panopticlick: Test your browser against Tracking

The associated guide may contain user-generated or external content.

Dirk41

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 17, 2016
Hi everyone!

Surfing the web I found this
Panopticlick

I think it is made by the creators of https everywhere and privacy badger

I recommend you to read their privacy policy before perform in the test

And I suggest you to read the explanation of the results etc

One thing : probably it will say you also that your web fingerprint is unique , but IMHO, that result is due to the small number of testers ( about 200000 .. How many people in the world use Internet ? )

But anyway the part about the fingerprint makes me think ( please , as always , tell me if I am wrong because I am not an expert ) that when people , in the Internet , suggest to use less common OS/browser /etc because they are less targeted by malwares ,they , maybe , don't think that this makes your web fingerprint more unique .

Let me know what do you thing if want .

_CyberGhosT_

Level 53
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Aug 2, 2015
Thanks Dirk41, that was kind of cool.
SS_02012017.png

Myriad

Level 7
Verified
Well-known
May 22, 2016
Panopticlick is a great tool , and the eff do fantastic work on behalf of every internet user on Earth ,
whether those users know it or not .
They have my utmost respect .

The downside is that the results can be very confusing and even misleading , especially for the " Mom and Pop "
type users who may have started reading about the serious privacy related issues we are all facing ,
( there have been plenty of Panopticlick debates on various other security oriented forums ) .

Put simply , it gives a measure of how unique you appear to be , compared to a given pool of other users .
More " visible " or less ?
More a target of interest , or too much trouble for the average data-mining company ?