Hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dee

Thread author
Mar 26, 2014
Hello everyone!

I am new to malwaretips.com. I read messages on this site and have found a lot of infomration on this site useful. Thank you to the administrators.

I noticed in one of your site messages that there will be no more security updates for Windows XP OS starting 8th April 2014. I would like to ask as to what we should do if we have Windows XP? Should we buy new Windows 8?

Sincerely,
Dee

3link9

Level 5
Verified
Oct 22, 2011
Welcome to MT!
As for windows XP, Security updates are ending and my personal advice is if possible to buy a new system with at least windows 7 or 8.
I'm not sure what kind of system you have and if it was build for XP but assuming so, I would advise not to upgrade windows xp to a newer OS as newer OSs have not been made to run on older hardware that was meant for XP. This is coming from personal experience, I upgraded my old system to windows 7 as it was an old XPS built for XP. It ran, but not as it should have and it eventually died.
So as I said, I highly recommend buying a newer system that is built for and runs windows 7 or 8.

Reactions: Venustus

Dee

Thread author
Mar 26, 2014
Welcome to MT!
As for windows XP, Security updates are ending and my personal advice is if possible to buy a new system with at least windows 7 or 8.
I'm not sure what kind of system you have and if it was build for XP but assuming so, I would advise not to upgrade windows xp to a newer OS as newer OSs have not been made to run on older hardware that was meant for XP. This is coming from personal experience, I upgraded my old system to windows 7 as it was an old XPS built for XP. It ran, but not as it should have and it eventually died.
So as I said, I highly recommend buying a newer system that is built for and runs windows 7 or 8.

Dee

Thread author
Mar 26, 2014
Thanks for the helpful tip! I will check whether my OS is new enough to install the latest windows.

Status