Help needed to create Virtual Machine for Malware Analysis

Tarun

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Apr 8, 2015
Hello everyone,
I am Tarun, I am new to MalwareTips and I am posting as I require help from you guys in setting up a Virtual Machine for malware analysis, I have a lot of interest in testing malware but I read that VMware's settings need to be modified so as to use it for malware testing or else the host system can be rendered useless, so I request any of you guys to guide me in setting up a machine for malware analysis in VMWare..

Reactions: AtlBo

Tarun

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Apr 8, 2015
Thanks for your reply but I want guidance regarding isolation of VM in VMware for malware analysis...

ueda

Level 1
Dec 19, 2016
I'm using NAT N/W configuration and disable folder sharing to isolate VM from host.

tim one

Level 21
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Jul 31, 2014
I can just share my experience with VirtualBox but I think the concept is similar also for VMware and static or dynamic malware analysis, the speech does not change.

It is important that the virtualized environment has to be isolated from the host one, so even if a malware infects the virtual machine, it would have no way to attack the real system.
There are situations however, in which this isolation can be problematic, and then it is necessary to avoid host/guest "clipboard" sharing and "drag ‘n drop" function.
It is necessary to check that the "shared folders" are turned off or by flagging "read-only" to prevent malware accidentally started in the VM can infect the host.

Very important is to use a VPN connection because NAT config. assumes the sharing of the host IP, so it is necessary to protect our real IP from malware access.

jamescv7

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
By default the network configuration is in NAT which isolates the IP address from our host system, so chances of slip infection is very minimal.