Advice Request Is there much difference between Opera's (GX) built in adblocker and uBlock Origin?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Templarware

Level 9
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Mar 13, 2021
Is there much difference between Opera's (GX) built in adblocker, which blocks adds, tracking and malware and uBlock Origin? I think it uses most of the same filters.

CyberDevil

Level 6
Verified
Well-known
Apr 4, 2021
As I know, the adblocker in Opera does't support all the syntax of block lists. I am not an expert, but it seems that it does't allow to use of scripts inside, which limits the ability to block some complex ads, but in most cases you will not see the difference. However, please note that only Brave and uBlock for Firefox can block CNAME trackers and ads, so it will be useful to install some secure DNS in Opera with support for filtering ads and trackers for an extra layer of privacy.

Gandalf_The_Grey

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Apr 24, 2016
About CNAME tracker:
Update
(2021-03-16): Many people now know AdGuard published CNAME tracker lists. As I wrote below, one should note even without such lists or CNAME uncloaking EasyPrivacy already blocked at least 70% of CNAME tracker all over the world. From the perspective of a filter author, CNAME tracker is no different from other tracker - we inspect script or request and if it sends unnecessary user data we block it unless doing so causes trouble. In fact, I was the first one opened an issue in the AdGuard's CNAME tracker repository to expand its coverage - some of CNAME tracker I proposed were not blocked not only by AdGuard but also by other services such as NextDNS because the trackers were unknown to them. CNAME uncloaking is done by checking the tracker's canonical name in known tracker database so is helpless against unknown tracker, and there are always such trackers out there.