Is this true about Linux?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ravenosky

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Jul 15, 2014
I have no experience with Linux, never used it. But ever since seeing my friend using a laptop with a Linux OS a couple of weeks ago, I have been thinking more about it.
He told me that viruses can not infect Linux computers, that Linux is immune to all those bugs that Macs and PCs get a lot.
But doing research, I read that most games do not work with Linux. I would love to have an OS that is immune to infections, but I love my games, and not being able to play them because the OS is not compatible is a really big NO for me.

imsoadude

Level 3
Verified
Feb 21, 2011
You could always dual boot, do a portion of the hard drive with linux for all your regular needs and do windows on another portion for games, also would let you try linux and learn it, while still having the comfort of windows when you want it

Cats-4_Owners-2

Level 39
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Dec 4, 2013
It is possible to have the best of different worlds. This not only speaks my own thoughts as many of our friends (members on this very thread) may have wonderful stories to share sooner, if not later!:) Come to think of it, ..I happen to be on lubuntu which has proven to be a very light and easily transitioned to distro (distribution) of linux. It certainly outperforms my sleeping (in suspended animation)o_O XP.

Linux is not completely immune to problems, although when compared side by side with Windows afaik (as-far-as-I-know) it's as nearly malware free as one could imagine. Do seek out (or search for threads by..) The Dark Lord of the Sith (staff member) @Umbra Polaris whom truly knows the power of the linux side!:D