Do you use an Admin account or Standard User Account?

Do you use and Admin Account or a Standard User Account

• Admin Account

Votes: 87 73.1%
  • Standard User Account (SUA)

Votes: 33 27.7%

• Total voters

blackice

Level 38
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 1, 2019
It's been about a year since a big discussion on this, but even longer since a poll has been posted. Last I checked the community had been drifting towards favoring an SUA, adoption was up in 2017 over 2016. So I'm just curious where the community is at these days? We know SUA is more secure, there's no need to debate that, but it comes with usability issues. Do you use an Admin Account or an SUA? Forgive me if I missed a more recent pole, but I hadn't seen one.

blackice

Level 38
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 1, 2019
I've been using a SUA for several years, but have some issues with programs and tray icons that won't start with the system. I've tolerated it, and don't mind entering a pin for elevation, but it does tempt me to run as Admin sometimes. Thankfully I don't reboot more than a couple times a week. I think most people with good habits will survive an administrator account with no issues, but there's always that just in case scenario.

DSD27

Level 5
Well-known
Apr 15, 2020
Yes you can.

You can install web browsers to your local user account folder, and certain other software that don't require the Program Files directory.

Also apps from the Microsoft Store - correct if wrong.
"Moreover, a Standard user is also not allowed to install new or even run certain existing apps on the computer. Some may think this to be a hassle. It was done to protect your computer from malware and viruses that often install without your permission. "

Reactions: Dave Russo

blackice

Level 38
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 1, 2019
Admin. You can't even install programs with a standard account.