Linux to repair c drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

MSmitty

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 12, 2018
My c drive was infected and won't boot. Several ideas and attempts to repair but no avail.
I have a thumb drive loaded w program to clean drive, now I'm stuck at command prompt. unfortunately, I'm far behind the eight ball on this one. Any help? Sorry if Im in wrong forum...
15240307326371712318879.jpg
grub>

MSmitty

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 12, 2018
Friend who gave me thumb drive said it would clean the virus on my C drive upon boot, but all I get is this, and I have no knowledge how to run the program, what syntax or commands to use

Attachments

• 15240310092761959775507.jpg
    15240310092761959775507.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 276
Reactions: upnorth

MSmitty

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 12, 2018
Thanks for sharing your knowledge, unfortunately in my frustrations I didn't provide background.
I am using Win7 OS and had tech support virus shut down c drive- won't boot at all. Friend gave thumb drive, it booted up, I set removable as first drive. Then very fast flash on screen showed SYSLINUX (I believe he wrote program on Lynux?) Then went to command - grub> (see photo) here is where I'm stuck. I've tried reading tutorials, not helping me figure this out. It's 2:28 am for me, friend sleeping, won't get to bring him thumb drive to reconfigure for couple days, then couple more to get it back. Need info on c drive asap, desperately!

Reactions: upnorth

upnorth

Verified
Staff Member
Malware Hunter
Well-known
Jul 27, 2015
I've tried reading tutorials, not helping me figure this out. It's 2:28 am for me, friend sleeping, won't get to bring him thumb drive to reconfigure for couple days, then couple more to get it back. Need info on c drive asap, desperately!
This might help : How to Rescue a Non-booting GRUB 2 on Linux

You could also simply try type " boot " and hit Enter on your keyboard and see what happens.

Last edited:

ZeroDay

Level 30
Verified
Top Poster