Battle McShield vs. SMADAV Pro: USB/Removable Media Protection

ifacedown

Level 18
Thread author
Verified
Jan 31, 2014
Hello.

I have been using McShield for around 3 years now and it never failed me. One thing I also like is I could set it to unhide folders that were hidden by malware. Sometimes only it will a long time to fully scan the USB drive when infection is found (could be turned off by the settings).

I know that SMADAV is beyond USB Protection. But my question here is only: McShield for its USB Protection and features VS. SMADAV USB Protection.

Which is better? Thanks.

Parsh

Level 25
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Well-known
Dec 27, 2016
SmadAV has got quite some features and a lot of them do not add much to protection alongside a good AV.
MCShield covers various techniques (desktop.ini, lnk exploit, conficker method..) to tackle USB malware. It also uses heuristics but the product itself is not being developed anymore. Not much info is found regarding SmadAV except that it uses (regularly updated) signatures and behavior detection (probably only pattern-based / heuristics?)

The below links should be helpful:
Q&A - Best pendrive protection for pc
MCShield Anti-Malware v3.0
Beware of FPs in both cases.

If you do not want a separate USB protection utility in your security setup, you can give Block USB-spreading Malware (Autorun.inf) with Anti-AutoExec | NoVirusThanks a try. It's service based, works at kernel mode (driver) and is a light alternative to USB vaccine tools, may not entirely replace McShield or SmadAV feature-wise. It won't remove existing USB malware though.

Last edited:

ifacedown

Level 18
Thread author
Verified
Jan 31, 2014
McShield-It is discontinued updates from 2014.But it's USB Protection is good till now...(y)

But its signatures have the latest update up to February 2016.