Advice Request Need to know the best anti virus vendor by reputation (i.e. prefer US vendors compared to other vendors)??

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

icarus

Level 2
Oct 29, 2021
I am a stock trader, so lot of financial transaction is done on my PC. I have come across info where lot of anti virus vendors have got into scandals in past:
  1. Avast AV was caught capturing all info on your PC and selling it to companies for targeted ads
  2. Kaspersky was suspected to be collaborating with russian govt and suspected to have passed on NSA files to russian intelligence
  3. Popular security extension web of trust (WOT) was caught capturing user info and selling it few years ago.
So more than effectiveness, my first priority now is reputation/integrity of anti virus vendors.

Bitdefender, Kaspersky, Norton are considered as top 3 anti virus vendors by several review sites. I am ruling out kaspersky for above reasons. I have not come across any allegation against bitdefender so far but it is eastern european based vendor. My guess is as Norton is US based, they would have to comply with much stricter privacy rules of US govt. (i know US govt is part of 5 eyes program but the average person may not need to be concerned about it)

Even though Bitdefender offers more security features (EX: isolated browser for financial transaction, etc) and is considered slightly more effective than Norton, iam thinking of going with Norton.

I would like to know if others have also had similar concerns? Also feel free to tell me your opinion if you feel iam being overly paranoid or overlooking something?