Question about Windows 8 firewall.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grimreaper1014

Level 3
Thread author
Jul 9, 2011
Hi guys,

I was using Vipre Internet Security 2014. However since I play a lot of games I decided to go with something lighter and more suitable for gaming. Therefore, I am using 360 Internet Security and Windows Firewall. I do not like Windows Defender or I would of used that as well. I reset the Windows Firewall rules back to the defaults. Is there anything else I need to do? I have never used Windows Firewall before. I have always used programs like Comodo IS etc. Is it just set it and forget it type of deal? I only need to touch it in the event of a popup?

Thanks,
Rocky

Reactions: Ink

Littlebits

Retired Staff
May 3, 2011
Here a video which should explain everything.

Most of the time you will not have to configure settings, when a program tries to connect you just unblock it, if it is some unknown program then don't allow it to connect.

Basically just set it and forget it, you will have better online gaming experiences usually Windows Firewall.
Just only download files from trusted sources and never allow anything on UAC prompts that you don't know for sure is safe.You should be protected.

Enjoy!! :D

grimreaper1014

Level 3
Thread author
Jul 9, 2011
Thx a lot Littlebits I greatly appreciate it. What about Windows Firewall Notifier? Would you recommend a program like that? Is it easy to use? I am pretty good at accepting the correct firewall rules and know the difference between good and bad programs. However, some firewalls ask things in a difficult way. Is Windows Firewall Notifier pretty basic? Like does it just ask if you want to allow or block a program pretty much?

Last edited:

Littlebits

Retired Staff
May 3, 2011