Q&A SD causing slow system shutdown and start up issues

Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
410
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Malwarebytes
#21
When using fast startup, the pc does not shut down when clicking shut down. Instead it hibernates so that booting up is faster. It appears you can run shutdown.exe to bypass fast boot mode if you do not want to turn fast boot off.
A restart however brings your pc up form a shut down state. I have always exited on all shadow modes and used to reboot. Any way try the shutdown ( shutdown.exe ) command and see if you are out of shadow mode when booting up the way you are trying to do it.
 

HarborFront

Level 41
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3,045
#22
When using fast startup, the pc does not shut down when clicking shut down. Instead it hibernates so that booting up is faster. It appears you can run shutdown.exe to bypass fast boot mode if you do not want to turn fast boot off.
A restart however brings your pc up form a shut down state. I have always exited on all shadow modes and used to reboot. Any way try the shutdown ( shutdown.exe ) command and see if you are out of shadow mode when booting up the way you are trying to do it.
Thanks for the explanation. After a restart(aka reboot) the Shadow Mode is gone from my desktop.

Sorry, I made a mistake. My Fast Start Up wasn't disabled previously. Now I have it disabled and shut down removes Shadow Mode on next start up.

NO issue with SD for my 1st Test

How about my

2nd Test

Following up

I enter Shadow Mode again, chose 'Exit Shadow Mode on Shutdown', surf the net and then select 'Exit Shadow Mode' and it asked

1) Discard all changes except Exclusion List (Recommended)
2) Commit all changes

I chose option 1) and 'Reboot or shutdown later' and guess what?

The wording 'Shadow Mode' is still there on my desktop

I also tried 'Exit All Shadow Modes' and 'Reboot or shutdown later' and the same 'Shadow Mode' wording still remain on my desktop

In these 2 cases is Shadow Mode still on? Since I have exited Shadow Mode why the wording 'Shadow Mode' still appear on my desktop?

After these 2 cases I restarted my system and the wording 'Shadow Mode' is no longer on my desktop
So is it possible to exit Shadow Mode without a restart(reboot)?

Thanks again
 
Last edited:

HarborFront

Level 41
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3,045
#24
No...it's one way to enter real system - reboot. No other possibilities.
Then what is this feature for?

When you 'Exit Shadow Mode' and it asked

1) Discard all changes except Exclusion List (Recommended)
2) Commit all changes

and 'Reboot or shutdown later'

If you terminate SD from the Task Manager will SD be terminated with no Shadow Mode?

:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

ichito

Level 4
Verified
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
152
#25
Exclusion list - the list of areas (file/folders/registry) that are out of protection of Shadow Mode...they are just part of real system/disk no matter if your system/disks are or not virtualised. The changes in excluded areas are automaticaly edited/saved...you have to do nothing.
Commit now - list or command to save every changes while exiting from SM to real system..."Commit now list" (standalone module) - before you exit to real system you have to manualy save the changes in listed location and only these changes are saved..."commit changes" from mouse menu over disk/file - changes in such folders/disk are saved..."commit all changes" - no matter where (except exluded loctaion) all changes are saved.
Termination of SD process do nothing what means that you are still in SM - SD's service is still active and file diskpt0.sys created in system disk (usualy C) in such mode still exists...it will be automaticaly deleted after reboot.
 

Andy Ful

Level 30
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Dec 23, 2014
Messages
1,961
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#26
When using the Commit feature, please remember not using it for the folders with many files (like Windows, Program Files, etc.).
 
Likes: HarborFront

Lockdown

From AppGuard
Developer
Verified
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
3,911
#27
Ok, I'll uninstall webroot and try again with SD. Do you know whether SD has a list of apps having conflict with it like SBIE?

Thanks
Not really.

Perhaps SDMOD over at Wilders might keep a mental list. He has been the unofficial SD Moderator for Tony (the developer) since the beginning. SDMOD acts as a go between for Tony and everybody else on the forums. Tony is somewhere in China.
 
Likes: HarborFront