Advice Request SEPC - how good is the web dashboard?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

notabot

Level 15
Thread author
Verified
Oct 31, 2018
Currently for family members I install Sophos Home Premium. The main reason for this is the web based management dashboard.

I can set policies (eg do not autorun from USB etc) via web dashboard, without having access to the local machine.
I can see incidents in the web dashboard.
I can schedule scans from the web dashboard.

Overall though I'm not super happy with Sophos but these web dashboard features are a must-have.

How does Symantec Endpoint Protection Cloud's web dashboard compare? can machines be fully managed via web dashboard?

gonza

Level 2
Sep 10, 2019
Hello, @notabot I've tested SEPC a while ago. I'm not an expert at all. But I'll try to answer your questions:
1- You can set policies, but I don't know if you can set something like: "do not autorun from USB". I could test it if you want.
2- Yes, you can.
3- You can also do that.

The only thing I found that you can't do via dashboard is to manage files in quarantine.

Burrito

Level 24
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
May 16, 2018
Hello, @notabot I've tested SEPC a while ago. I'm not an expert at all. But I'll try to answer your questions:
1- You can set policies, but I don't know if you can set something like: "do not autorun from USB". I could test it if you want.
2- Yes, you can.
3- You can also do that.

The only thing I found that you can't do via dashboard is to manage files in quarantine.

I used to run SEPC. And yes, gonza answered the basic questions.

SEPC is quite good. It's not heavy at all. It has more granularity in control than the comparable Norton product. It tests well.

I recommend.

notabot

Level 15
Thread author
Verified
Oct 31, 2018
2- Yes, you can.
3- You can also do that.