Battle Sophos Free or WD + configure defender

oldschool

Level 81
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 29, 2018
I'm wondering if WD + ConfigureDefender instead of Sophos Home Free would be lighter on our machine and give roughly the same protection we get now. I'm a new member and I've been using Sophos Free since November 2017 install on our old windows laptop. (i3, 4GB RAM). I've been OK with Sophos and one of the things I like about it is ease of use and web filtering. I'm a safe user but I am a novice with all things PC. Recently I saw info here about ConfigureDefender for WD and it simply got me wondering.....should I give WD a try?

shmu26

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jul 3, 2015

Evjl's Rain

Level 47
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Malware Hunter
Apr 18, 2016
1 WD is bad at static detection. It is better at blocking when the file is executed.
2 If you want WD to really perform, you need to enable ASR. This is easily done by means of ConfigureDefender.
I found WD's BB/cloud working only after being tweaked by CD
in default settings, it doesn't usually block anything that the static scanner can't detect
I tested it, it blocked 0 after I executed undetected malwares in default settings

I think most windows 10 users are more protected not because of WD but because of windows smartscreen or the improvement of Edge's smartscreen and google safe browsing

oldschool

Level 81
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 29, 2018
I found WD's BB/cloud working only after being tweaked by CD
in default settings, it doesn't usually block anything that the static scanner can't detect
I tested it, it blocked 0 after I executed undetected malwares in default settings

I think most windows 10 users are more protected not because of WD but because of windows smartscreen or the improvement of Edge's smartscreen and google safe browsing