Valheim
Hobbies
    • Computers and technology
    • Education
    • Malware and threat analysis

whatspgp

Thread author
Nov 16, 2022
Can someone recommend me topics to learn about to get into malware dev and pentesting. I started learning about computer architecture, memory, buffer overflows etc. but I'm not sure where to go after that. I just want a long list of things I can pick away at.

Stopspying

Level 19
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Jan 21, 2018
Networking, protocols, deep packet inspection, XML, XPath Injection, XXE, SQL Injection, HTML Injections, privilege escalation, XXS - cross site scripting, API Security.

Understanding social engineering attacks, how to exploit network-based vulnerabilities, and intercept traffic via on-path (man-in-the-middle) attacks, pivoting, known vulnerabilities.

Research attack vectors and how to perform application-based attacks, wireless attacks, network attacks, cloud technologies, and the reverse - how to defend against these.

Virtual Machines, Metasploitable, Damn Vulnerable Web Application (DVWA).

Tools - Kali, Frida, Hopper, Metasploit, Nmap, Dirb, Aircrack, Wireshark, Nslookup, TShark, Nikto, John the Ripper, Medusa, Trivy, Drozer, Nessus, Burp Suite, Immunity Debugger,

Python - for doing things like automating repetitive tasks etc to save you time.

This is a rather random list of topics that may be good for you.

I don't know where you've been learning about pentesting and malware development, I'm guessing places like YouTube. Have you come across people like David Bombal? He covers a range of IT topics and is fairly clear in his instruction. He is on YT and has paid for courses on places like Udemy.com (they used to offer quite a lot of free courses but after a quick search today I couldn't find many, although there were some reduced to $4 or so. Its probably worth keeping an eye out for any offers there). Bombal has some courses for free on David Bombal Free Courses

Zero Knowledge

Level 20
Verified