TheMalwareMaster

Level 21
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Jan 4, 2016
Good afternoon, I never tweaked my virtual box that I use for malware testing, and I'd like to know if there are any important tweaking to do to make it more secure or if it is okay at default settings. The second question is about snapshots. I Save every time I test a product a New snapshot with new virus definition updates (to download less next time). Is there a way to delete all the snapshots except the most recent one (all in one time), or to overwrite everytime the old one?

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
Now I'm not really good with VirtualBox, but when it comes to snapshots, I'd recommend doing them when you have a clean install of Windows. Doing a snapshot of every definition update is a bit much and will use alot of space on your hard drive. Best to install what antivirus you are testing update it then take a snapshot, then if you want to test that antivirus again, open the snapshot you saved and then just update the antivirus. Hope that helped in a way. :)

JM Safe

Level 39
Verified
Top Poster
Apr 12, 2015
Hi @TheMalwareMaster

As I always say, you cannot be secure 100% when testing malware, even if you are in a virtual environment. It depends on the malwares you are testing. It is important to do not run malwares, which can be able to connect to internet and infect your connection. The most important thing to remember is that if you want to do dynamic malware analysis, you can't do that in a VM, but you must do that on a war PC.
Instead, if you want only to testing antivirus, so context scans, heuristic scans, etc. without run the malwares, you can obviously do it, also using softwares as Shadow Defender.

However there are several points to remember when you do malware testing in VMs: