Advice Request What will cybersecurity software look like in the future, say 10-30 years from now?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

danb

From VoodooShield
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Developer
Well-known
May 31, 2017
Please compare effective mechanisms to ineffective mechanisms.
Of course I am HEAVILY biased on this topic, but in my opinion…

Effective
1) Contextual engine
2) Dynamic security postures
3) ML / Ai
4) To a certain extent behavior blocking

Ineffective
1) Sandboxing
2) Antivirus signatures (I would have put this first, but Sandboxing is kinda silly)
3) Relying too much on Digital Signatures

I will probably change my mind a little after thinking about this more, I just thought of this and wanted to post it before I forgot.

n8chavez

Level 16
Well-known
Feb 26, 2021
I would add sandboxing/isolation in the effective category. I've been using sandboxie for about 10 years, and if you want to know what will be effective 10+ years from now I still see there being a place for it. Explain what you mean by 1) Contextual engine, 2) Dynamic security postures, please.

danb

From VoodooShield
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Developer
Well-known
May 31, 2017
I would add sandboxing/isolation in the effective category. I've been using sandboxie for about 10 years, and if you want to know what will be effective 10+ years from now I still see there being a place for it. Explain what you mean by 1) Contextual engine, 2) Dynamic security postures, please.
Yeah, because it is SOOOOOO easy to use ;).

Reactions: Sorrento

ScandinavianFish

Level 7
Verified
Dec 12, 2021
Ummmmmm, yeah, they still rely heavily on sigs, and ML/AI did not happen until 2015 or so. Just answer the question.
In what way do they still rely heavily on signatures?

Webroot was the first to employ Machine Learning in the early 2010's.

I wont answer an question based on misinformation

Last edited:

cambell7

Level 1
Verified
Jan 26, 2021